top of page

Why Do I Travel


There are people who live as a traveller. I'm not.

There are people who can't stay at one place. I'm not.

I'm not a real backpacker. If you were to call me a traveller, I'd probably blush. I might be a bit addicted to travelling, but it doesn't kill me to stop for awhile. I don't have a long list to count when you ask me where have I been to. I have no travel tips nor special hacks for you. I am just a ordinary gal who happens to be exploring the world.

I wonder if you also feel the same, that out of all the possibilities that we could have become, we happened to be born as human on this wonderful planet. We possess the ability to wonder, to think, to explore, to discover. It's like we are gifted a gorgeous hardback book that full of wisdoms and ; it'd be a complete waste not to read it. Therefore I travel, because our world is huge and filled with surprises. I am born to this world, I'm not going to leave those beauty high and dry.

I'm not dodging responsibility or the reality, nor am I with no ambitions nor aspirations in life. Au contraire. I know perfectly well what I want in life, just as I know perfectly well what I DON'T want in life. I want to see the world, I want to make the world a better place to live, I want to end poverty and bring justice. I DON'T want to stay in one place forever, I DON'T want to see the same view every year, and I DON'T want to have a routined life. I don't want to be THAT frog that live in a well, who thinks the sky is just the size of the well. Life is too short, ought we not to spend time on things that can make us happy? Travel offers me that.

Nonetheless travel also leaves me melancholic. Each trip I took brings me new insights, which remind me how little I know about the world I live in, and how ignorant I still am. Whenever I got home after a trip, my mother would ask me, "Have you had enough fun?" I tried to ignore the language she used. And my answers were all the same. No. It'll never be enough.

I feel like I'm a moth. Until the day when I dive into the raging fire, I'd spend my life flying hither and thither.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE...

bottom of page