top of page

Strolling in Prague


I'm surprised that Prague does not gain more attention from the world as she deserves. But part of me in hope of keeping her a hidden treasure in Europe, as oppose to please tourists.

Visiting Prague was a completely simultaneous idea, and I'm glad we did (also hallelujah to borderless Europe). To put it in a capsule, Prague is, by far, the most delicate and soulful city I've visited so far. I'm from a city which celebrates new over anything old. Tired of all the newly constructed skyscrapers, I adore the beauty of antiquity. And Prague is vintage.

The 60s Movies Vibe

Night has already fallen when we arrived Prague. After settling into a flat-like hostel, we went out for dinner in the hustling city. In order to lighten the burden of our purses, we headed to those alleyways and looked for something less tourist-targeted restaurant. I must say the charm of the city of Prague caught me right on. It could be that I have a real soft spot for stone road and old tram running through narrow lanes (the ringing bell of trams always sing to my heart.) The night sort of conceals the colour of the city. So when walking through the old city bit, I felt like being put in one of those 60s movies where all the colours are ever so gentle and soft. Knowing nothing about the city but the direction given by our waiter, we wandered into the old bit, Staré Město. Lanes are cramped and packed with bars and bistros that open till late. Interestingly enough, even with the night life and the largest beer consumption per capita, Prague is never noisy. Perhaps due to her historical background, Prague came off as a mature dame who has been through the mill. Surely she was caught in vicissitude, had hit the lowest point in life, but she's still standing with her back straight, proud and steady.

Prague is a living history

I couldn't help but recalled the movie Anthropoid while walking down the streets, especially in the morning time when she was shrouded in fine mist. It hit me like she's attempting to hide something, perhaps a certain history that she wanted to put behind. We walked along river Vltara in mist, seeing nothing across the river but a blur. "History loves to make fun of humanity" is a common known saying in Chinese, and to think how majestic and significant Prague used to be in the Holy Roman Empire and the Kingdom of Bohemia, it seems like a lively example to prove the saying right.

Anywho, it's not about history here. Let's keep strolling and cross the Charles Bridge.

Let Prague chills you down

Charles Bridge in daylight is probably my favourite spot in Prague. Put aside the Gothic style architectures and statues on both side of the bridge, I love how lively and artistic it is during daytime. It's pretty much like a fair, with street artists sketching, craftsmen showcasing small handcrafts, bagpipes being played in the most refreshing way, and couples walking by. I doubt Charles Bridge has changed that much since the construction completed, and I can totally imagine 300 years ago people did the same things just as the time I stepped feet on, with some different clothes and faces. Oh well, classics last.

Right, classic. Finally I got the perfect adjective to describe the old town. After the mist dispersed, Prague eventually revealed her daytime glam. Unveiled by the freezing wind, Hradčany showed us her finest view. The prestigious castle, the grand monastery, the ancient pavement, and the sophisticated pastel façades, none one of which is unimpressive. As I said, Prague is never loud, even with all the bustling activities. She didn't shed the 60s movies vibe, I mean, you can even see those red vintage cars in every corner (which I think is a brilliant idea. They blend in Prague perfectly.) But there're something more, something I prefer to call "flair", a special flair that can somehow just calm your unsettlement down. Like, a cup of Glühwein in the coldest of winter.

If I regret anything from the trip to Prague, I wish we have had stayed longer in this gorgeous city.

For more photos of Prague, check out my gallery!

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE...

bottom of page