top of page

That ONE Coat I brought to Europe


England

This winter I crossed half the globe to Europe - my first time stepping on the soil of the European continent. Being born and raised in a subtropical city, I might have a high tolerance to humid and heat. But when it comes to cold, I genuinely have no ideas of how cold 5°C feels like, let alone to pack for it.

I know when it comes to cold weather, keeping warm is probably the bigger concern than being fashionable and good looking. But what can I say, I like being presentable and I wanted to look good in all the picture I was going to take (right?). So after standing in front of the wardrobe for nearly 15 minutes (I stared at my jackets hoping they would talk to me), I made the call - a thick wool navy coat.

The Fashion Saviour In Winter

A coat can be linked to classic. It's a piece in your wardrobe that will never run out of style. A coat is classy, sleek and chic. A girl with coat (be it trench or wool) is a girl with sophistication and independence. I can go on an on about it, but you get the drill. We all know winter fashion can be so tricky, you never want to look puffy in layers of fabrics but man, it's cold outside! Don't worry, just grab that coat.

At first I feared it might not be warm enough, that I might not be able to survive European winter. But this wool coat is surprisingly warm. With an extra help with my trusty big scarf, I rarely felt cold during my three weeks holiday in London and Germany (except for one terribly windy night in Berlin we spent walking from East Side Gallery to the Brandenburg Gate. Be smarter than us and take the U-bahn, people.) It even got me through the snow in Munich. Seeing those tiny snowflakes staying on my coat and slowly melting off was weirdly satisfying.

What can I say, it now has become my comrade in arms.

English Garden in Munich

There are thousand ways to style a coat - you can hardly go wrong with it

Coats do look elegant, but don't let it limits the way you style it. Dresses and high heels are one way to dress underneath, but there're a whole lot of possibility.

I travelled light, so I only packed one pair of oxford shoes that goes with the classic theme. Since most of the time I'd be on the way, 99% I didn't bother to bring many "special occasion wears". A black midi skirt, that's is. The rest were jeans and tops that could easily be mixed and matched. Pairing coat with jeans and oxford shoes creates contract that makes things more interesting. Don't be bounded by the femininity of your coat! Mixing femininity and masculinity has been on trend for a long time. And what's best to dress down a graceful coat than some casual jeans and blouses?

Item mentioned in the blog.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE...

bottom of page